Oklahoma Region Volleyball Association Board of Directors (2021-2022) First Meeting Cattle Country Lodge, Stroud, OK August 7, 2021 @ 11:18am

Minutes

1. Call to Order Bill Hamiter 11:18am

2. Roll call of Board Members

Shawn McCarty

Members present Shawn McCarty, Randy Decker, Nikki Dieball, Janet Tyler, David Blakemore, Mike Freeman, Margo Juergens, Bill Hamiter, Missy McCaw-Frette, Gant Ward

Members absent: Jeff Boyland, Edgar Miraku, Dick Mahoney, Darin Thompson, Cindy Maggart

Staff Present: Jody Webber, Libby McCarty

3. Setting of Agenda

Bill Hamiter

4. <u>Election of BOD Officers for 2021-2022 Season</u>

Bill Hamiter

- Shawn McCarty nominated Bill Hamiter to serve as President of the BOD. Bill Hamiter is President by acclimation.
- Shawn McCarty nominated Randy Decker to serve as Vice President of the BOD. Randy Decker is VP by acclimation.
- Shawn McCarty nominated Nikki Dieball to serve as Secretary of the BOD. Nikki Dieball is Secretary by acclimation. Secretary will communicate with members who have missed 2 meetings and are in danger of removal from the board.
- Randy Decker nominated Margo Juergens to serve as Treasurer of the BOD. Margo Juergens is Treasurer by acclimation.

5. Tryout Parameters for 2021-2022 Motion

Decker/Committee

Date Parameters for 2021-2022 tryouts in the OKRVA -

- a. 11's-12's --- Tryouts can begin no earlier than Wednesday, September 22 Signing date begins no earlier than Saturday, October 2.
- b. **13's-14's** --- Tryouts can **begin no earlier than Tuesday, October 5** Signing date begins no earlier than Saturday, October 16.
- c. **15's 18's ---** Tryouts can **begin no earlier than Thursday, October 21** Signing date begins no earlier than Saturday, October 30.

Motion by Randy Decker, second David Blakemore to accept tryout date parameters set forth by the tryout committee. Motion approved.

Tryout Committee will report the 2022-2023 tryout parameters at the May meeting from now on.

Motion to have the boys tryouts start date beginning September 10th with signing no earlier than September 25th made by Janet Tyler, second by Shawn McCarty. Motion approved 4-3.

Motion by Randy Decker, second Missy McCaw-Frette to place the pressure statement on the front page of the region website and clubs holding tryouts need to put the statement somewhere visible.

Motion by Randy Decker, second by David Blakemore to address concerns brought forth by the tryout committee at the club directors meeting. Motion approved.

6. <u>2021-2022 Budget Review & Approval</u> Juergens/Committee Margo will reach out to the officials committee to come up with fair pay for officials who teach score and ref clinics.

Motion to approve the budget as amended made by Shawn McCarty, second Randy Decker. Motion approved.

- 7. <u>2022 Rankings Tournaments Update</u> Shawn McCarty Rankings tournament will be held February 19th at the Titan facility.
- 8. <u>2022 Regional Championships Update</u> Shawn McCarty Regionals will be April 30th -May 1st and will be held at the Bennet Center in OKC. 18's bid qualifying tournament with be March 5th at Score OKC.

Gant and Shawn will be looking at nicer awards for Regionals and Beach Regionals.

- 9. <u>2022 Beach Regionals Update</u> Shawn McCarty Still working on solidifying dates. Will be held in Tulsa. Looking at June 18-19.
- 10. <u>Coaches Education Update</u> Shawn McCarty USA volleyball is rolling out new education, but they have not announced it yet. Will be looking at opportunities for more coaching education.
- 11. <u>Establish Promotional Committee</u> Shawn McCarty
 Gant Ward, Janet Tyler, Mike Freeman and Missy McCaw-Frette will help decide how to spend the promotional budget to get the USAV and OKRVA brand out.
- 12. <u>Establish Boys Promotional Grant Committee</u> Shawn McCarty Nikki Dieball, Jody Webber, and Gant Ward will help with promotion of boys volleyball. Committee will take applications and will determine how \$2500 grant money is spent.

Motion to approve promotional committees made by Randy Decker, second Janet Tyler. Motion Approved.

13. 2022 Standing Committees

Bill Hamiter

<u>Officials Committee</u>: Darin Thompson(Chair), Margo Juergens, Elliot Blake, Rich , Harold Brooks Jill Cooper, Archie Scott

Finance Committee: Margo Juergens (Chair), Janet Tyler, Gant Ward

<u>Structure and Function</u> Committee: Dick Mahoney (Chair), Edgar Miraku, Missy McCaw-Frette

<u>Ethics Committee</u>: David Blakemore (Chair), Jeff Boyland, Mike Freeman <u>Juniors Ranking Committee</u>: Jody Webber (Chair), Randy Decker, Cindy Maggart, Nikki Dieball

<u>Review Committee for Due Process</u>: Darin Thompson, Nikki Dieball, Mike Freeman, Janet Tyler, Jeff Boyland, Dick Mahoney, Missy McCaw-Frette, David Blakemore, Cindy Maggart and Gant Ward.

Motion to approve committees made by Randy Decker, second by Gant Ward.

14. OKRVA Website Update

Margo Juergens

Gant will investigate getting an intern to help with website updates and social media presence.

15. <u>Set Date for November 2021 Meeting</u> November 21 at 2pm in Stroud. Bill Hamiter

16. Adjournment

Bill Hamiter

Meeting adjourned at 3:45pm.