# Oklahoma Region Volleyball Association Board of Directors (2023-2024) First Meeting Best Western, Stillwater, OK August 14, 2022 Time TBD

#### **MINUTES**

Call to Order

Bill Hamiter

Call to order at 2:55pm

Roll call of board members.

Bill Hamiter

Members present: Bill Hamiter, Shawn McCarty, Missy McCaw Frette, Margo Juergens, Darin Thompson, Janet Tyler, Mike Freeman, Asa Freeman, Randy Decker, Jeff Boyland, David Blakemore, Lee Johnson

Members absent: Cindy Maggart, Kristen Conventon

Staff Present: Jody Webber, Libby McCarty

Guests Present: Peter Velet, Dave Schatzmann, Steph Kane, Pete Mills

Setting of Agenda

Add election of new board of director to replace the vacated seat by Nikki Dieball

Add junior committee tryout rules motion

Add All Star motion

Election of BOD Officers for 2023-2024 Season

Shawn McCarty/Bill Hamiter

David Blakemore nominated Bill Hamiter for President. Bill is president by acclimation. Shawn McCarty nominated Randy Decker for Vice President. By acclimation, Randy Decker was named Vice President. Shawn McCarty nominated Cindy Maggart; Jeff Boyland nominated Missy McCaw Frette for secretary. Missy McCaw Frette is secretary by board election Shawn McCarty nominated Margo Jurgens for treasurer. Margo is treasurer by acclimation.

President – Bill Hamiter Vice President – Randy Decker Secretary – Missy McCaw Frette Treasurer – Margo Juergens

Election of board member to fulfil vacated spot by Nikki Dieball Election Committee Missy McCaw Frette, Jeff Boyland, Asa Freeman. Two-year board position nominations are Steph Kane and Larry Taylor.

Steph Kane has elected for two-year board seat expiring in August 2025.

### **NEW BUSINESS/MISCELLANEOUS**

2022-2023 Budget Review & Approval

Juergens/Committee

Budget presented and discussed, all approved proposed budget

Junior Committee Motion

Decker/Webber

New Motion from Junior Committee to Present to the Board of Directors:

### The Junior Committee would recommend the following motion

In order to reduce the anxiety that occurs around the club season, encourage players to enjoy and appreciate the high school season, and to exhibit respect for the OSSAA high school season, we would move that the following restrictions/parameters be approved by the OKRVA:

- 1. For players moving into  $\frac{\text{U13's}}{\text{U18's}}$ , no camps, clinics, "invitation only" or tryout events with groups larger than 6 may occur during OSSAA volleyball season (July  $15 \frac{5\text{A}}{6\text{A}}$  State Tournament), with the exception of one pre-tryout clinic, open to all, per age group.
- 2. Small group lessons (no more than 6 players) may occur with no more than 6 players from the same age group (ie. 15's, 17's, etc). Lessons should be about skill development.
- 3. No offers can be made, for any age group, before the tryout period begins. Offers should be connected to a tryout that occurs during the tryout period.
- 4. <u>Individuals (parents, players, coaches) who witness violations of this rule should report it to the Oklahoma Region Commissioner at commissioner@okrva.com</u>. The commissioner will investigate and, if violations are discovered, he will submit the information to the Ethics Committee to assign consequences.

Motions to amend current motions to policy presented:

Section 1: listed as the last sentence on Section 1 - Motion made by David Blakemore second by Mike Freeman, players not currently participating on a sanctioned school team will be exempt.

Motion passes

Section 2 Motion made by Randy Decker, second by Darin Thompson, Small group lessons may occur with no more than 6 players from the same USAV age division which they compete in the upcoming season.

Motion passes

Section 3: listed as the last sentence on Section 3 - Motion made by Darin Thompson, second by Janet Tyler, no offers can be made by any club, for any age group, before the tryout period begins. Remove sentence Offers should be connected to a tryout that occurs during the tryout period.

Motion passes

Section 4: Motion made by Darin Thompson second by Steph Kane, Individuals (parents, players, coaches) who witness and/or are aware of violations of this should report it to the Oklahoma Region Commissioner at <a href="mailto:commissioner@okrva.com">commissioner@okrva.com</a>. Remove the last sentence The commissioner will investigate and, if violations are discovered, he will submit the information to the Ethics Committee to assign consequences.

Motion passes

Section 5 Consequences Motion made by David Blakemore second by Randy Decker to add c. Consequences take affect January 1, or after of the current club season

### Motion passes

Recommendation for Structure and Function to review if the OKRVA BOD has authority to give a financial fine to club for any violation of rules. Results would be presented at the next OKRVA BOD meeting.

# Camp

# All Star Motion Shawn McCarty

All-Star tournament will be hosted in Des Moines, Iowa. With the next year, 2025, is still pending USAV decision for host city.

Motion made by Shawn McCarty second by Darin Thompson Designate \$ 10,000.00 to help bring the 2025 All-Star tournament to Tulsa, Oklahoma. Motion referred to Finance Committee to review. Motion was not voted on pending Finance committee recommendation.

## **Outside Groups Tournament Scheduling**

Shawn McCarty

We have outside groups running non USAV sanctioned approved tournaments in Oklahoma. Recommended education to make each club aware that these are unknown entities and not OKRVA/USAV tournament directors.

### Assignment of Committees & Review Committee

**Bill Hamiter** 

Finance Committee – Margo Juergens (committee chair), Randy Decker, Janet Tyler Structure and Function – Missy McCaw Frette (committee chair), Lee Johnson, Asa Freeman Ethics and Eligibility – David Blakemore (committee chair), Mike Freeman, Steph Kane Junior Committee – Jody Webber (committee chair), Janet Tyler, Jeff, Boyland, Cindy Maggart, Asa Freeman

Officials Committee – Jeff Boyland (committee chair), Margo Juergens, Elliott Blake, Rich Cooper, Archie Scott, Harold Brooks, Kayla Stevenson

Due Process – (Groups of 3) Asa Freeman, Jeff Boyland, Steph Kane, Cindy Maggart, Janet Tyler, Kristen Conventon, Lee Johnson, David Blakemore, Mike Freeman, Darin Thompson

## Set Date for November 2023 Meeting

Bill Hamiter

November 5, 2023 2:00pm at Best Western in Stillwater, Oklahoma

#### Adjournment

Bill Hamiter

Motion to adjourn by Shawn McCarty, second by Jeff Boyland. Meeting adjourned at 5:55pm.